Eagles in Grand Haven

It was a cold, windy, but fortunately sunny day today.
A day which found me driving up to Grand Haven to photograph Bald Eagles out on Harbor Island.
Pulling into the location, things looked good as the sun was at my back and I could see a few Eagles gliding on the wind.
Nature had other plans though as the wind was from the north and most of the Eagles stayed just out of reach of the lens.

For me, part of the fun in photography is the interesting people I get to meet.
Today was no exception as I met up with Travis Dewys, whom I’ve previously only known from Facebook.
We had plenty of good conversation while waiting for the Eagles, which made standing out in the cold worth the effort.

A little bit of sun, a few Bald Eagles and now a new friend.

Good times.

Here are a couple of Eagles that came close enough for a decent shot.

Bald Eagle

A Bald Eagle Hunting for fish in Grand Haven, MI.
Nikon D300 w/500mm f/4 1/4000sec. f/4 ISO400

Bald Eagle

A Bald Eagle glides in the wind in Grand Haven, MI.
Nikon D300 w/500mm f/4 1/2500sec. f/4 ISO400

Bald Eagles

A group of Bald Eagles out on the Ice in Grand Haven
Nikon D300 w/500mm f/4 1/4000sec. f/4 ISO400

